Fully Funded Africa 21 Media and Journalism Days in Africa 2020

SEVICS Africa-21-Conference-300x65 Fully Funded Africa 21 Media and Journalism Days in Africa 2020 opportunities  Youth Opportunities Opportunity for Young Nigerians Opportunity for Young AFricans Opportunity for Journalists

The Media and Journalism Days in Africa is a project led by Africa 21 and its partners aimed at annually convening journalists from the African continent, alongside experts from international Geneva and around the world, to review, exchange and debate on a selected theme related to the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The first edition took place in 2019 on the theme of climate change with journalists from French-speaking Africa, with a follow up edition in 2020 covering the same theme with journalists from English-speaking Africa.

The objectives are two-fold. The event will strengthen the skills of journalists invited on this topic, offering participating journalists the opportunity to share their realities with the public and international experts. In addition, the event will  integrate the Network of African journalists specializing in sustainable development and climate change, in order to create a strong link between international Geneva and the African media.


Africa 21 and partners cover all travel related and subsistence costs for Journalists attending the MJDA in Geneva, this includes travel allowance, flight ticket, on-site transport, hotel and allowances for food costs on site.


  • Applicant must be current professional journalist for the written press, radio or TV (press card);
  • Possess at least 5 years of professional experience in media;
  • Must be active in the field as well as in the newsroom;
  • Interest or specialization in sustainable development and climate change issues;
  • Valid passport until December 31, 2020 at least and availability to travel to participate in the MJDA event;
  • Female candidates strongly encouraged.

Eligible Countries

Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritius, Nigeria, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

DEADLINE: May 20 2020

To apply and for more information visit here


Was the article helpful? Share your thoughts with us...